top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturelaurahperez

Blog Post #5

Wikipedia. Wikipedia is a source of information that is written, edited, published by individuals all over the world. It has information just about anything, plants, countries, celebrities from all over the world and more. It is essentially a humongous encyclopedia that is accessible online for everyone. I think about Wikipedia articles as articles that are quick and easy to understand for the general publics.

When I want to know more information about a specific topic unrelated to academia, I heavily rely on Wikipedia. And often times, if the information I am reading sounds realistic enough, I take it as true. But, one of the problems with Wikipedia is that because so many people have access to it and are also able to edit, the information may not always be reliable. When I am assigned a research project about a topic for school, I seldom rely on Wikipedia as a reliable credible source. High school till now, the narrative that was pushed upon me from teachers and professors, have explicitly stated and repeated that students cannot use Wikipedia as one of their sources. Therefore, I tend to not use Wikipedia in an academic setting.


However, throughout taking this class I have found out that Wikipedia articles are not as easily published as some may think. That information on Wikipedia cannot be flimsy because it will not be published. Just editing a Wikipedia article or even creating your own article on Wikipedia is a lengthy process in and of itself. Not every individual that creates an article on Wikipedia will get published and not all edits on a certain Wikipedia article will be published. Despite these negative aspects of Wikipedia, the world still uses it as a source of information on the daily. Wikipedia is also amazing in the sense that individuals from all over the world are able to build a connection.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection

This semester in English 315 Digital Writing, I embarked on many new writing mediums and styles. Through each project I learned how to craft my work in a more interesting and efficient manner. Learnin

Wikipedia Article

The California State University, Northridge, Pride Center The California State University, Northridge, Pride Center or CSUN Pride Center is an LGBTQIA+ organization on campus that supports all student

bottom of page